A word from Diana Vishneva

September 2010 marked fifteen years of my career as a ballet dancer at the Mariinsky Theatre. For a professional classical ballerina that is a long enough period to understand the difficulties of the profession, to understand the role this kind of art plays in public life and, at the same time, to make a respected name for myself in the ballet world.

And today, using that experience, I would like to say and do something for the arts that amounts to more than just dancing the ballet repertoire. Unfortunately, it is difficult for one person to solve big and serious problems alone.

That is why I have taken the step of setting up the Diana Vishneva Foundation for the Coordinated Development of Ballet which, I hope, will unite organizations’ and individuals’ efforts and abilities to achieve the foundation’s cultural, charitable and creative goals.

At this stage, it is proposed that the main areas of the foundation’s activities will involve:

1. Improving access to ballet for all social classes, including children who study ballet and dance, retired performers and ballet-lovers alike.
It must be admitted that today ballet has become a privilege for the wealthy few. And, in my opinion, this is happening because of a drop in the prestige of ballet as a profession. 2. Targeted support for ballet dancers and retired performers.

Accidents that can lead to the temporary loss of income or even having to abandon the profession altogether are a tragedy for any ballet dancer. There is, at present, no single system to help dancers in such circumstances. I think a personal appeal from the Diana Vishneva Ballet Foundation to potential sponsors could help resolve this problem.
Many once illustrious and acclaimed dancers are, sadly, today forgotten and experiencing great difficulties. Finding feasible means of helping these people is also an important task, and one that I feel can be dealt with.

3. Organizing and producing new ballet projects.
Very often I have to work with foreign ballet companies and choreographers. I would like to point out that experimentation and a variety of genres form a good stimulus for the development and allure of ballet. Russia is experiencing a lack of good contemporary choreographers, and there are problems organizing new ballet programs. We already have experience of organizing these programs, such as the premiere of the Russo-American project Diana Vishneva: Beauty in Motion, which in 2009 won Russia’s most prestigious theatre prize, the Golden Mask, in three categories.


About the foundation

The foundation of Diana Vishneva, People’s Artist of Russia, recipient of the State Prize of Russia and Mariinsky Theatre prima ballerina, is a non-commercial organization dedicated to cultural, social, artistic, charitable and other social goals.

Founder – Diana Viktorovna Vishneva

Tasks of the foundation:

As part of its activities, the foundation plans to support and promote the art of Russian dance, to create and run new ballet projects and productions featuring leading ballet specialists from across the world, to continue the traditions of Russian ballet, to increase patriotism in the arts and to continue the development of links between classical and contemporary dance.
Particular emphasis will be placed on assistance for children’s dance and support for recent graduates of ballet schools who due to circumstances do not have the ability to bring their artistic dreams to life.

The foundation’s plans include:
- organizing annual ballet festivals, artistic evenings, master classes, ballet competitions and lectures;
- creating new ballet projects and organizing and running artistic exhibitions;
- assisting the social rehabilitation of retired ballet dancers;
- founding prizes for outstanding achievements in dance, as well as arts and student grants.

More about the foundation

About the foundation

The foundation of Diana Vishneva, People’s Artist of Russia, recipient of the State Prize of Russia and Mariinsky Theatre prima ballerina, is a non-commercial organization dedicated to cultural, social, artistic, charitable and other social goals.

Founder – Diana Viktorovna Vishneva

Tasks of the foundation:

As part of its activities, the foundation plans to support and promote the art of Russian dance, to create and run new ballet projects and productions featuring leading ballet specialists from across the world, to continue the traditions of Russian ballet, to increase patriotism in the arts and to continue the development of links between classical and contemporary dance.
Particular emphasis will be placed on assistance for children’s dance and support for recent graduates of ballet schools who due to circumstances do not have the ability to bring their artistic dreams to life.

The foundation’s plans include:
- organizing annual ballet festivals, artistic evenings, master classes, ballet competitions and lectures;
- creating new ballet projects and organizing and running artistic exhibitions;
- assisting the social rehabilitation of retired ballet dancers;
- founding prizes for outstanding achievements in dance, as well as arts and student grants.

Обращение Дианы Вишнёвой

В сентябре 2010 года исполнилось 15 лет с начала моей балетной карьеры в Мариинском театре. Для профессиональной классической балерины это достаточно большой срок, чтобы познать трудности этой профессии, понять роль этого вида искусства в жизни общества и создать, при этом, определенное авторитетное имя в мировом балете.

И сегодня, исходя из этого опыта, мне хотелось бы от своего имени сказать и сделать для искусства и общества что-то большее, чем только текущее исполнение балетного репертуара. Одному человеку, к сожалению, трудно решать большие и серьезные задачи.

Поэтому я решила учредить «Фонд содействия развитию балетного искусства Дианы Вишнёвой», который, надеюсь, объединит усилия и возможности организаций и людей для решения культурных, благотворительных и творческих задач этого фонда.

На данном этапе предполагается, что основными направлениями деятельности фонда будут:

1. Повышение доступности балетного искусства для различных слоев общества, в том числе для детей, занимающихся хореографией и танцами, ветеранов сцены и просто истинных любителей балета. Надо честно признаться, что балет сегодня стал привилегией состоятельных людей. И происходит это, на мой взгляд, на фоне падения престижности балетной профессии.

2. Адресная помощь артистам балета и ветеранам сцены.
Трагедия для любого балетного артиста – это травмы, которые могут лишить его заработка на время или профессии навсегда. Единой системы помощи артистам в этом случае пока нет. Думаю, что обращение от имени Фонда балерины Дианы Вишнёвой к потенциальным помощникам может помочь в решении этой проблемы.
Многие, когда-то известные и заслуженные танцовщики, сегодня, к сожалению, забыты и испытывают трудности. Искать пути посильной помощи этим людям – задача тоже важная и, думаю, решаемая.

3. Организация и постановка новых балетных проектов.
Мне много приходиться работать с зарубежными балетными труппами и хореографами-постановщиками. Хочу отметить, что эксперимент и разнообразие жанров являются хорошим стимулом развития и привлекательности балета. В России существует дефицит сильных и современных хореографов, есть проблемы с организацией новых балетных программ. У нас уже есть опыт организации таких программ на примере российско-американского проекта «Диана Вишнёва: Красота в движении», который в 2009 году получил высшую театральную награду в России «Золотую маску» сразу в трех номинациях.


О Фонде

Фонд Народной Артистки России, Лауреата Государственной Премии, прима-балерины Мариинского театра Дианы Вишнёвой является некоммерческой организацией, преследующей культурные, социальные, творческие, благотворительные и иные общественно полезные цели.

Учредитель фонда – Диана Викторовна Вишнёва.

Задачи фонда:

В рамках осуществления своей деятельности Фонд намерен заниматься поддержкой и пропагандой российского хореографического искусства, созданием и осуществлением новых балетных проектов и спектаклей с привлечением ведущих специалистов мирового балета, продолжением российских традиций в сфере балетного искусства, воспитанием патриотизма в сфере искусства, продолжением развития связей классического и современного танца.
Большой упор планируется сделать на помощь детскому хореографическому искусству и на поддержку недавних выпускников балетных школ, которые, в силу ряда обстоятельств, не имеют возможности реализовывать свои творческие замыслы.

В планах фонда:
- организация ежегодных балетных фестивалей, творческих вечеров и и мастер-классов, конкурсов балетного искусства, лекций;
- создание новых балетных проектов, организация и проведение творческих выставок;
- содействие социальной реабилитации ветеранов балета;
- учреждение премий за выдающиеся достижения в хореографическом искусстве, творческих и студенческих грантов.

Подробнее о фонде

О Фонде

Фонд Народной Артистки России, Лауреата Государственной Премии, прима-балерины Мариинского театра Дианы Вишнёвой является некоммерческой организацией, преследующей культурные, социальные, творческие, благотворительные и иные общественно полезные цели.

Учредитель фонда – Диана Викторовна Вишнёва.

Задачи фонда:

В рамках осуществления своей деятельности Фонд намерен заниматься поддержкой и пропагандой российского хореографического искусства, созданием и осуществлением новых балетных проектов и спектаклей с привлечением ведущих специалистов мирового балета, продолжением российских традиций в сфере балетного искусства, воспитанием патриотизма в сфере искусства, продолжением развития связей классического и современного танца.
Большой упор планируется сделать на помощь детскому хореографическому искусству и на поддержку недавних выпускников балетных школ, которые, в силу ряда обстоятельств, не имеют возможности реализовывать свои творческие замыслы.

В планах фонда:
- организация ежегодных балетных фестивалей, творческих вечеров и и мастер-классов, конкурсов балетного искусства, лекций;
- создание новых балетных проектов, организация и проведение творческих выставок;
- содействие социальной реабилитации ветеранов балета;
- учреждение премий за выдающиеся достижения в хореографическом искусстве, творческих и студенческих грантов.